Polls for Congress president: Shashi Tharoor, KN Tripathi file nominations

Senior Congress leader and MP, Shashi Tharoor on Friday filed his nomination for the post of party President at the office of the All India Congress Committee (AICC) in the national capital. Ahead of filing his nomination, Tharoor today visited Raj Ghat to pay homage to Mahatma Gandhi.

Congress veteran Mallikarjun Kharge said he is also throwing his hat into the ring.
“I am going to file my nomination (for Congress president post)”, Kharge told media persons as he left for the AICC headquarters today. Meanwhile, Jharkhand Congress leader KN Tripathi also filed his nomination for the party’s topmost position and said that “the decision of party leaders is respected”.

“I belong to a farmer’s family. The country is seeing that son of a farmer who has experience of serving with the Indian Air Force, minister in state government and elected as deputy leader of Jharkhand Legislative Assembly, can also contest for the post of AICC President,” Tripathi had said before filing his nominations today.
Earlier, both Digvijaya Singh and Ashok Gehlot stated that they have dropped out of the race.

The former Madhya Pradesh chief minister visited Kharge at his residence this morning. “I told him that I stand by him and can’t even think of contesting against him, I will be his proposer,” Singh told reporters. Congress MP Deepender S Hooda also said: “I welcome Mallikarjun Kharge’s nomination for Congress president post and am confident that he will get elected. Over the years, he has raised the voice of the people in Parliament. I’ve signed his nomination papers as a proposer.”

Meanwhile, Gehlot had on Thursday said he is pulling out of the contest after he met with Sonia Gandhi and apologised to her for the ruckus in Rajasthan triggered by his loyalists over a possible leadership change in the state after Gehlot was set to file his nomination papers for the Congress chief polls.

Nominations for the post of Congress president close at 3 pm today and results will be declared on October 19. With the Gandhis not running for the top post this time around, the grand old party is all set to get a non-Gandhi president after over 25 years.

കൈരളി ഓണ്‍ലൈന്‍ വാര്‍ത്തകള്‍ വാട്‌സ്ആപ്ഗ്രൂപ്പിലും  ലഭ്യമാണ്.  വാട്‌സ്ആപ് ഗ്രൂപ്പില്‍ അംഗമാകാന്‍ ഈ ലിങ്കില്‍ ക്ലിക്ക് ചെയ്യുക.


കൈരളി ന്യൂസ് വാട്‌സ്ആപ്പ് ചാനല്‍ ഫോളോ ചെയ്യാന്‍ ഇവിടെ ക്ലിക്ക് ചെയ്യുക

Click Here

Latest News